Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: charcoal canister

  1. #1
    On the Road
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Locust Grove, Ga.
    Posts
    11

    charcoal canister

    I recently purchased a 2004 r1100s Boxer Cup Replika, ( 19,000 miles) the charcoal canister and catalytic converter was removed. The hoses for the canister were tucked up under the rear side panel and not capped. My question is there a procedure on properly removing the charcoal canister, or should I try to reinstall it? I would prefer not to install the converter, I don't have the original converter, but I do have the charcoal canister with most of the parts.

    I will tell you, I was having problems with low idle, so I capped off the two lower vacuum ports on both throttle bodies and readjusted idle and throttle body synchronization, the bike performs a ton better.

  2. #2
    Registered User m_stock10506's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Trinity, NC
    Posts
    927
    Leave it off. It sounds like your problem was the vacuum ports were left open; they should be closed off except when performing a throttle body sync.
    Michael Stock, Trinity, NC
    R1100RT, R100, R60/6

  3. #3
    Registered User rxcrider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    North Ridgeville OH
    Posts
    1,529
    yep - sounds like you already fixed the PO's botched attempt. Just remove the rest of the plumbing that he left behind and you should be good to go. You can also remove the solenoid that went inline between the pots on the throttle bodies and then cannister. I found that getting rid of it gave me a bit more freedom with the wire harness routing. Mine is a 1995, so that may or may not be the case with yours.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Western NY
    Posts
    431
    Do a search on canisterectomy. There is a good thread on the ADVrider forum.
    Karl
    2007 R1200ST

  5. #5
    FatChance
    Guest
    I still have the solenoid on my 1150GS. If I remove it, should the two wires be connected or left open or does it matter at all?

  6. #6
    Registered User rxcrider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    North Ridgeville OH
    Posts
    1,529
    Leave them open. If you connect them, you will cause a short and hopefully just blow a fuse. I filled my plug with a bit of silicone to be safe, but it probably isn't needed.

  7. #7
    On the Road
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Locust Grove, Ga.
    Posts
    11
    Thank you all for the great information, sounds like I'm going in the right directions.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Northern Front Range, CO
    Posts
    6,663
    ask your R11S questions over here http://forums.pelicanparts.com/bmw-r...0s-tech-forum/, far more focused than this MOA site.
    oh- be sure to Search 1st, as most questions have long since been asked and suitably answered.
    Ride Safe, Ride Lots

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •