Thread: R90/6 electrical capacity?

Rally Rat

R90/6 electrical capacity?

I am thinking of developing an audio rig for my tank bag, but am unsure of just how much power I can draw. Was looking at a possible mixer, gps and i-pod-type device with an optional phone charger. Not sure if I'd run direct off the battery or through the power socket and into a cigarette-lighter styled socket. Anyone?

It's merely a question of how many amps or watts your are planning to have to consume of the limited available. Once you post that, it is totally easy to figure out.........God bless......Dennis

I have an R90, but I'm no expert.

The OEM alternator doesn't produce a lot of power, but I don't think the items you listed would consume much power, maybe 2 amps?

But, the OEM doesn't produce power at idle. So, at idle, you'd be drawing current from the battery. Likely at speed, you'd be OK I bet. So if you are in stop and go traffic, might be a problem.

There are aftermarket alternators that produce more power, but they will set you back about $500.

Snowbum has a lot of info on alternators and power.
    Rob C. , Raleigh, NC
    '10 R12RT, R90/6
    2007 CBR600RR & 09 V-Star
    Suzuki DR 350

Some time ago I copied these figures down. I can't personally vouch for them but they do seem to make sense.

55W Stock low beam headlight
    40W Stock Ignition
    15W Lamps & Misc
    110 Watts Total

The good news is that the R90/6 has the highest capacity Airhead alternator output

The bad news it is 280 W At over 3,000 RPM, Under this speed practically nothing.

The bad news. unless the entire electrical system has been gone over (terminals cleaned or replaced, Alternator cleaned up & worn parts replaced) you won't see the full 280W.

Long trips are usually not too big a problem, short ones with much re starting can be a problem. A constantly under charged battery is not a good thing.