• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

Advantages of a Dual Sport helmet vs regular full fade or flip up helmet

Whosoever

Hello everyone...I'm new to dual sport riding or perhaps I should say, I have "returned" to a dual sport bike, 800gs, after a 40 year gap. Equipment today has become much more specialized than it used to be. With that said, what are...if any....the advantages to helmets worn by "dual sport" riders verses what I've been wearing for a number of years on my sport touring bikes? Which happens to be a HJC Modular or Flip Up style.

I dunno what a dual sport helmet is, but off road helmets usually allow the use of goggles and provide for more air circulation so that you can breath easier when you are dragging a 1200 GSA out of deep mud.

Had a shoei dual sport helmet, has a bill built into it, great for off road riding, let the wind at highway speeds get under the bill and watch out, wants to pull your head back kinda discerning at 60+. Didn't find it very usable for street riding
1200gs

I'd guess when you say dual sport helmet you mean either the Arai XD or Shoei Hornet DS units...