Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Spiegler brake lines

Spiegler brake lines

I just ordered a set for my 1995 R1100RSL. I plan to install and bleed the system myself. I also ordered speed bleeders.

Any suggestions or hints?

I recently installed a set of Spiegler brake lines into an R1100RT. I found the lines to be well made and properly sized. The fittings were angled well to fit and they can be swiveled so they will connect without twisting.

Not that hard to get fluid back into the lines especially with speed bleeders. You might have to get fluid in the line with the OEM bleed valves first, then switch to the speed bleeders. If there's air at the speed bleeder instead of fluid there might not be enough pressure to move the check valve out of the way.
    Michael Stock, Trinity, NC
    R1100RT, R100, R60/6

Good move going with quality brake lines. I did the same on my 94 RS and am very pleased with the results.

I work as a field/sales engineer for the worlds largest hydraulic hose manufacturer, and I have seen what goes into making the OEM brake hoses, which isn't much. Plus they age, weaken, get soft/spongy. I would NEVER spend one penny on OEM rubber brake hoses. Stainless steel braided/teflon tubed brake hoses are the only way to go for consistent feel and long life.
    Get trained! The best "performance" upgrade you can get is YOU. Visit msf-usa.org for training info.

redram
    +1 on Spiegler lines. Just replaced mine a week ago after springing a leak near the front MC. ('96 R1100RS, 90,000 miles) A little past due. Very satisfied with quality and fit. Though I did have to rotate a fitting or 2, no biggie. And definite improvement in braking.

Day Dreaming ... happy wanderer's Avatar
    Question for Zaasu. I've been thinking about these for my '00 RT. Any hints on suppliers? There seems to be quite a few.
    Best dealers?
    Best prices?
    MJM - BeeCeeBeemers Motorcycle Club Vancouver B.C.
    '81 R80G/S, '82 R100RS, '00 R1100RT