• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

My battery died yesterday...

Omega Man

Fortis Fortuna Adiuvat
Staff member
My battery died yesterday, and it went down with a vengeance. :banghead I have a lot of experience with batteries-probably have 17 in service at the present time, but this experience was new. I rode the 2009 F800GS the 3.5 miles to the Post Office, was in and out in 2 minutes and it was over.
I turned the key, the instruments made their sweep, hit the start button and the screen went blank and reset the clock to 12:00. This caught me by surprise as I had just ridden the bike and it was fine. I had the tools with me to get at the battery so I took the covers off to see if a connection had come loose. As all was fine I called my brother for a jump and while waiting I pushed the bike out of the way. My brother arrived with cables and a donor battery and when hooked up- did nothing. We changed to direct to the car and the bike started fine but when the cables were disconnected the bike immediately died.