• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

Pressure Brake Bleeder

hhshort

There has been much discussion about bleeding motor cycle brakes. I Have been bleeding brakes for more then 55 years but have not been very successful with my BMW,s. The pump, pump, pump, squirt just will not work, besides not good for MCs. I have tried the Phenix and the MityVac and just created a mess. I end up going to a shop where I am still welcome and using a pressure bleeder that is set for a car. It will be charged with DOT-3 not the recommended DOT-4.

I have found the PowerBleeder by , WWW.motiveproducts.com . At about $60 I took a chance that I could make it work for me. I had hoped that some of the car adaptors would work but no such luck. What it is, is a small garden pressure sprayer with a pressure gauge.

To make it work for me I wanted a valve. The brass needle valve, fittings and barbs came out of the junk can. I used salvaged MC caps to make adaptors. I drilled them for 1/8 inch pipe thread and used ?? inch tubing barbs. I cut the centers out of the gaskets and used a dab of rtv to plug the air passage in the front cap. I used ?? inch vinyl tubing.