Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Near stall, inconsistent running

E_Page

Near stall, inconsistent running

On my way home last night, cruising along at a little over the posted limit on the local freeway, all was going well for the first 25 minutes of the ride, then the engine started running pretty rough, bike started slowing.

The bike didn't stall, but felt as if it was going to. I pulled off on the shoulder, let it idle for a little while, gave it a few twists on the throttle, and after a minute or two, it seemed to settle down.

Continuing on my way, all was fine for another 8 or 10 miles, then the roughness reappeared. Went a couple more miles on surface roads, then pulled over and shut it down for a couple minutes. When I restarted, it was smoother, but not quite as smooth as I've been accustomed to with this bike. Rode extra easy for the remaining 12 miles home with just noticeable, but not alarming roughness.

I'm not a mechanic, but my uneducated guess is that I might have some intermittent obstruction in a fuel line or a dirty filter. This is on a 2002 R1150RT with 66K on it. It gets regular maintenance at A&S and had a new filter put in (I think - gotta check that) with the last major service about 4 months ago.

Any educated guesses from the mechanics out there?

E_Page
    Anyone, anyone?

I'll start guessing to give your post a bump.

It was well in to the ride, so the bike was warmed up for quite a while, so I am thinking it is not an 02 sensor.

Possibly bad gas?

maybe electrical... check your battery connections especially your ground.

sounds like a dirty gas filter. when was it changed last? its supposed to be replaced every 24K according to my manual.
    AKA SNAPGADGET
    Lifes too short to ride an ugly Motorcycle

E_Page
    I usually put Chevron Premium in. Last fill up was Shell Premium the day before and about 130 miles prior to the problem showing itself.

I'll take a look at the filter this weekend.

Thanks.

Rally Rat