Thread: K1200S Valve Adjustment?

K1200S Valve Adjustment?

Ok Guys, after reading the article in the latest Owners News about the new K1200S. I started studying the pictures trying to figure out how the valves are adjusted. Is there some type of adjustment in the hinged fingers or by using the hinged fingers eliminate valve lash?

I am not into Formula 1 engine technology, so can anyone give me a clue?

Bill

It looks like there's an adjustment on the pivot point of the fingers. Unlike most of the other valve actuation schemes I've seen for overhead cams, this doesn't have a shim and bucket arrangement on top of the valve stem. That really only leaves one way to adjust the valve clearance - setting the gap with the fingers.

Old Suzukis and Hondas had a tappet at the end of the finger with a screw and locknut arrangement. This doesn't look like it allows for that, so all I can figure is that you set a static clearance by adjusting the finger height from the pivot point on the finger.
    Dave Swider
    Marin County, CA

Some bikes. Some with motors, some without.

Re: K1200S Valve Adjustment?

Originally posted by BE in IN
    Ok Guys, after reading the article in the latest Owners News about the new K1200S. I started studying the pictures trying to figure out how the valves are adjusted. Is there some type of adjustment in the hinged fingers or by using the hinged fingers eliminate valve lash?

I am not into Formula 1 engine technology, so can anyone give me a clue?

Bill
    Dad, are you thinking about buying something that you haven't told me about yet??? Because I sure hope so.

Hummm....Hi KBasa, Garth,