Thread: You might want to check something on your 1997 F650ST !!!

You might want to check something on your 1997 F650ST !!!

I have a BMW 1997 F650ST that I purchased just over 2 years ago from a private owner. It only had 950 miles on it at the time. Shortly after I started riding it, it would occasionally die while I was sitting idling, say at a stop sign.

I was sure that the bike needed to have the carburetors taken apart and cleaned, but I did not start the project until tonight.

This is not a quick project, you have to take off many parts including the airbox. After I started to remove the airbox, I noticed that the throats of the carburetors were filthy. So I started to look at the inside of the air box and noticed it was dirty also.

AND I NOTICED I COULD SEE ALL THE WAY THROUGH - THERE WAS NO AIR CLEANER IN THE AIR BOX

I am pretty sure it must have come that way from the factory. Who would change the air cleaner on a bike in the first 950 miles, especially considering all the time it takes to get the airbox out and open.
    2014 R1200 GSA, 2015 KTM 690 Enduro (Sold: 1992 K75S, and many more)

klw457
    My air box did have the filter, however it had a healthy dose of old jelled gas.

plus a melted hole probably from running hot (from a lean mixture). Note that when I first got my bike it would stall at stops, especially after long runs. My mechanic said the bike was running lean and he gave it a richer mix. Never had an issue with stalls after that. There is some good advice on the Chain Gang FAQ's http://f650.com/ that should help you with the stalling issue. Flash's DVD has an alternate method of removing the carbs that works well.

If there is any advice I would offer when buying an older bike, especially a low mileage one, it would be to assume that it was never serviced and check/service everything.

F650 Air Cleaner

OK, here is the real story- the foam air cleaner disintegrated
    Attached Images Attached Images