Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: New to GPS

New to GPS

I just opened my new Garmin Quest Deluxe from UPS and was wondering if anyone had any helpful info on using this unit. I've never used a GPS before, so I guess I would just like some suggestions on what to look for. It came with a MapSource CD that I guess you can load different things into the unit. How is the basemap?

Gps

I know this reply is late, but I'm a new member. Did anyone ever answer your question?

No, just posted it.

New GPS

Hi Brian
    Yes, Mapsource is the desktop utility that you can plan and create routes, waypoints etc. They can then be downloaded to the mobile unit. Garmin base maps are not bad - you will find issues - be careful of minor roads - they may not be open to the public, and may not be open. Tracks, recorded on the mobile unit, can be uploaded to Mapsource. Routes, can also be created on the mobile unit.
    Garmin support is great, there is a lot of stuff on their web site, and their (free) telephone support is knowledgeable, curteous and staffed by Americans.

Mark

"Of all the things I've lost, I miss my mind the most" Mark Twain

I'll differ a bit

Basemaps don't go much beyond the main highways, but the Mapsource product is quite good. You load as much of the map as you need.

Warning - these units pack a lot of technology into a small package - took me quite a while to master using it.

Take the time to read the manual and get familiar with the unit off the bike. I'd suggest using in the cage for a bit until you get a feel for how it operates. It's very easy to focus on the GPS and be distracted from operating the bike.
    Bob Weis
    Bikeless! 2004-bmw-k12rs-hannigan-Sold!

tHANKS FOR THE INFO, i'M EXCITED

Rally Rat

Gps