Thread: It happened again.....

Rally Rat

It happened again.....

Hello all,

Just read an article about helmet laws and thought I'd pass this along for your amusement. This is what I say to the people who say "there awt ta be a laaaw"

You know how it is, you step off your motor and there's this old guy (holy crap, I'm one of them at 59!!!) who looks at you, sees your helmet and starts the same old conversation....

Him : See you're wearing a helmet, crazy motorcyclist, outta be a law making 'em wear them things. I am sick and tired of society and MY taxes having to pay for all these damn medical bills for you guys hittin' your heads and being put into the hospital.

Me: Well sir, (I am a retired Police Officer so I am polite), It is my understanding that there is a move afoot to make helmets mandatory due to all the injuries.

Him: Well, it's about time. Damn people getting hurt in the head and makin' me pay.

Me: Yes sir, I agree. It is a sad state of affairs when we have to pay for these people going and getting themselves hurt.

Him: Yep, and finally one of ya'll that has some sense.

Me: Yes sir, but I do have one question that has been bothering me....

Him: And what's that???

Me: Well, how the heck are you gonna wash your hair????

Him: WHAT! What the hell you talking about???

Me: Well sir, most injuries are head injuries, and since most injuries occur in the home, and since we both agree that we are tired of these people using our taxes to pay their bills, the law will help alleviate this problem by making everyone wear a helmet in the homes, in their cars, and at work. And like you said, we're tired of paying their bills. Quite a good idea, don't you think?

Him: What???? I ain't wearing no gawd damm helmet!!!!