Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Switched fuse block on '07 K1200GT

  1. #1
    Mike in Bonny Doon
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Santa Cruz, CA
    Posts
    5

    Switched fuse block on '07 K1200GT

    Does anyone have experience with adding a switched with key fuse block to the '07 K1200GT with CANBUS? Where would I pick up a connection for the relay?

  2. #2
    Registered User ksrob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    kansas
    Posts
    273
    There is a connection in front of the battery, under the cross piece. It's straped underneth the bar so a little force is needed to get it.

    It has three wires, you can either tap into those or buy the adapter from your friendly dealer. It provides the pigtail. You'll then have a switched power source with the options of a delayed power off or immediate power off.

    This info is provided over on the dedicated K bike sites, I-BMW, k-bikes, BMWLT, etc.

    HTH,
    Rob Lessen

    '07 R12RT
    '14 R12RT LC

  3. #3
    Been noodling on the same question. Here is what I have found. I don't know anything about this vendor, nor have I ordered from him.

    http://www.easternbeaver.com/index.html

    I do plan on installing a Centech AP-2 with relay. Looks like the EBeaver makes wiring harnesses complete with the relay and Centech.

    Also, for a picture of the install on a GT

    http://www.i-bmw.com/attachment.php?...0&d=1161984311

    Ron

  4. #4
    Mike in Bonny Doon
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Santa Cruz, CA
    Posts
    5
    Thanks for the great info! I also added i-BMW and K-Bikes to my favorites.

  5. #5
    Mike

    Hope it works for you.

    My 08 was supposed to have been built last week (week 1 build) so maybe Feb I can start the projects.

    Only 65 today, so would have been great for a short ride.

    Ron

  6. #6
    Rally Rat
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    221
    Eastern Beaver is a good vendor with high-quality stuff. I'm a happy customer.

    I have both a Centech AP-1 (unswitched, always on power fuse box) and a CP-2 (Partly switched.) Whether you switch the farkle or not depends on what you intend to do. For example, are you powering a GPS? Then you likely want it unswitched, so the GPS continues to work when you are at a gas stop. But something like auxiliary lights or electric clothing could be switched.

  7. #7
    On the Road
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Western NC
    Posts
    43

    Thumbs up Eastern Beaver

    Eastern Beaver will do you right. Just installed an AP-2 and a headlight modulator on my bike. Great communication and fast shipping from Jim Davis. No affiliation.


    2153516014_4716d95788

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •