Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: AutoSwitch for auxiliary lights

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    319

    AutoSwitch for auxiliary lights

    I am using a Kisan Signal Minder on my '95 R1100R. Since the stock turn signal cancel switch continues to function notmally, I assume that I can use an AutoSwitch AS-5NCY single press unit to switch my new (for Christmas) auxiliary lights on and off. Can anyone confirm this.
    Regards,
    Mark

  2. #2

    AutoSwitch for auxiliary lights

    Yes you can! However setting the minder will cause you AUX. lights to flash!

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    319
    Do you mean the aux light will flash with the turn signal? If yes, then do you know another way.
    Mark

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by queretaro View Post
    Do you mean the aux light will flash with the turn signal? If yes, then do you know another way.
    Mark
    I run my auxiliary driving lights with a relay, and with the relay coil triggered by the feed to the high beam only, then through a switch. If the switch is "on" the lights are on with high beam. When I dim the headlight for oncoming traffic the driving lights go off.

    I also run a set of Motolights which are wired so they can be on all of the time or on with low beam only. Riding at night I run them as low beam lights. Then switching from high beam to low beam kills the driving lights and turns on the Motolights. Daytime riding I run the Motolights full time for conspicuity.

    In case of a modulator you need to take your power for the relay coil from the harness feed prior to the modulator. This will leave them on, unmodulated.
    Paul Glaves - "Big Bend", Texas U.S.A
    "The greatest challenge to any thinker is stating the problem in a way that will allow a solution." - Bertrand Russell
    http://web.bigbend.net/~glaves/

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    319
    Paul,
    In addition to the Kisan Signal Minder, I also use the Kisan Headlight Modulator, which runs on the high beam. I like the idea of using an AutoSwitch to switch the aux lights on/off with the stock turn signal cancellation button. Since with the Signal Minder, the stock turn signal cancellation button still cancels the turn signals, do you think the AutoSwitch will work?

    Followign is a description of the AutoSwitch taken from Cycle Gadgets webpage.

    "Model AS-5NCY - BMW, Single Press. This version installs on any non-CanBUS BMW that has a separate turn-signal cancel button (works on all R1100, R1150 models; K1200LT; K1200RS; K1200GT through 2004; R1200C. Does not work on R12GS/RT/ST, K1200GT 2005+, K12S/R, or any other CanBUS bike. See AS-6B and AS-6B2). To activate or deactivate lights, press & hold turn signal cancel button for 1 second or longer."

    regards,
    Mark

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by queretaro View Post
    Paul,
    In addition to the Kisan Signal Minder, I also use the Kisan Headlight Modulator, which runs on the high beam. I like the idea of using an AutoSwitch to switch the aux lights on/off with the stock turn signal cancellation button. Since with the Signal Minder, the stock turn signal cancellation button still cancels the turn signals, do you think the AutoSwitch will work?

    Followign is a description of the AutoSwitch taken from Cycle Gadgets webpage.

    "Model AS-5NCY - BMW, Single Press. This version installs on any non-CanBUS BMW that has a separate turn-signal cancel button (works on all R1100, R1150 models; K1200LT; K1200RS; K1200GT through 2004; R1200C. Does not work on R12GS/RT/ST, K1200GT 2005+, K12S/R, or any other CanBUS bike. See AS-6B and AS-6B2). To activate or deactivate lights, press & hold turn signal cancel button for 1 second or longer."

    regards,
    Mark
    Mark,

    I don't know for sure. It depends where the autoswitch takes the signal power to turn on the lights. If it plugs into the headlight circuit the modulator may interfere.

    I would call Shawn at Cycle Gadgets - 877-742-3438 - I think he can answer your question.
    Paul Glaves - "Big Bend", Texas U.S.A
    "The greatest challenge to any thinker is stating the problem in a way that will allow a solution." - Bertrand Russell
    http://web.bigbend.net/~glaves/

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    319
    Shawn at Cycle Gadgets confirmed the AutoSwitch will work in conjunction with the Signal Minder.
    Thanks, Paul.
    Mark

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •