• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

Starting problem

Dogface

I'm new to Beemers in general and certainly Airheads. Just bought a really nice R75/5 but I'm darned if I can get it started easily. It usually takes me ten + minutes of trying to get it to roughly kick over. Once started it idles way too low so that may be part of the problem. Does not seem to matter what degree of choke I use or how much/little throttle...it just don't wanna start.

There is only one Beemer dealer in Sac and they don't wanna work on these old bikes.. My small town an hour north is devoid of shops that know these bike.

Please gimme some suggestions :banghead

I'm new to Beemers in general and certainly Airheads. Just bought a really nice R75/5 but I'm darned if I can get it started easily. It usually takes me ten + minutes of trying to get it to roughly kick over. Once started it idles way too low so that may be part of the problem. Does not seem to matter what degree of choke I use or how much/little throttle...it just don't wanna start.

There is only one Beemer dealer in Sac and they don't wanna work on these old bikes.. My small town an hour north is devoid of shops that know these bike.

Please gimme some suggestions :banghead

.........tight valves.

Check the clearences and adjust as necessary before any carb adjustments.