Thread: '76 r60/6 turn signal/brake light/horn intermittently working...

El jefe - cogita tute

'76 r60/6 turn signal/brake light/horn intermittently working...

Hello.
    I recently purchased my first beemer, a '76 r60/6. It has 48k miles and i paid $1900. My dad is a 30 year member of MOA (i'm logged in on his acct), hopefully I'll be able to match his longevity.
    I've really enjoyed riding around the last couple months but I have been dealing with a minor problem that I don't know how to fix; hopefully anyone with a little free time can help point me in the right direction.
    My turn signals/brake lights and horn work but only intermittently. I was following the wires to their terminus to make sure the connections were solid and it seemed they were. But, 1) I was following the diagram in my Clymer manual and 2) this is my first time doing anything like this...so I probably didn't fully exhaust that route. Additionally, while doing this I found that one of the connections at the front brake switch (by the lever) was almost broke off (I subsequently broke it when I was making sure it was tight).
    On my flickr page I have uploaded pictures of the bike (including the offending switch and two wires that connect to it). Here is a link to the photos:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/kriddle...7594267232692/
    (click on the photos to see then closer).

How should I begin to search for the problem causing this all three of these electrical issues? The incredible weather here in NC this weekend is really making it hard to not go riding. I really need brake lights, signals and a horn.

I have also posted some pics of the bike in general. If there are any issues obvious from sight alone, I would appreciate comments (original items, not original items, things that might need attention, etc).

Thank you so much for any attention to this problem. I really appreciate it.

-Kris

Robert E