Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Use of Kill Switch?

screwtop

Use of Kill Switch?

I'm almost afraid to ask, but how many of you guys routinely use your kill switch to start and shut off you bikes? I have never used mine on the GS or the RS I had before, (just used the key) and never had any ignition problems. I've always thought the kill switch was there for emergency purposes only.

Anyway, I was out riding my HD, and my friend says that the proper starting procedure is to turn the key, and then click the kill switch to "run" and then hit the starter button. He said that if you are only using the key, it is analgous to throwing a breaker (physical disconnect) under load, rather than a simple switch and could harm the ignition system. Seems to make sense, but is it really necessary?

Thanks!

I always use the kill switch. Its just what I learned in the MSF course years ago and I just keep doing that.

Well, I'm not an HD mechanic -- not a BMW mechanic either -- but the kill switch is just another switch in line with the ignition switch.

I think the MSF recommends using the kill switch so you'll instinctively know where it is in an emergency, just like they tell you to practice your braking so you'll be able to do it in an emergency.

For the record, I use the kill switch occassionally, but not regularly. Sometimes it's easier to hit it with my thumb than to reach over to the key. I've never had any problems with either switch...
    --Darryl Richman, forum liaison
    http://darryl.crafty-fox.com

It is there to be used and works. The only point to really remember is to remember to turn it on before trying to start the bike otherwise you will wear that battery down trying...lol

Kill Switch

I always use my kill switch...No particular reason I just use it....

In 35 years of riding, I can count the times I've used the kill switch on one hand.
    Dave Swider
    Marin County, CA

Some bikes. Some with motors, some without.

belquar