• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

R100RS seat question

shadowray

I am new to the R100RS and looking for an OEM seat. It appears that some of the OEM seats online are lower than other OEM seats in the pictures. Did BMW offer a lower version or were the lower ones shaved down to achieve the lower look? I attached a picture for reference. Thanks for any info. Maybe they are all the same and it’s just the angle of the photo.

Attachments

• BEB584D3-5D28-40BF-B8B9-87B30C141312.png
    BEB584D3-5D28-40BF-B8B9-87B30C141312.png
    2 MB · Views: 91
Welcome to the forum! Could be the angle of the photo, but I don't believe that BMW made sculpted seats for the RS in particular or in general. I know on my '78 /7, it's not possible to take much out of the seat foam as there is a storage box under the nose of the seat, so there's not much room to play with there.

Here are a couple of sites that have numerous pictures of seats, R100RS and others. Hard to tell totally, but I don't see the type of seat your picture shows:

http://www.bmbikes.co.uk/photopages/photosr100rs.htm

http://www.omnilex.com/public/bmw78/

I think this small storage box was used only over a small run of bikes, but I can't say which. Of course the RS had the 3/4 seat option with the cowl in the back. It's hard to figure out the fiche entries, but the bench seat with part number 52531237832 appears to have been used on bikes from 1976 to 1984. However, there's not much in the way of details there.

Rs