Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 16 to 28 of 28

Thread: garmin smartlink

  1. #16
    Debbie's Servant Lee's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    SW Iowa
    Posts
    8,909
    Quote Originally Posted by BMW_Ken View Post
    When I tap the three dots, the Smarlink App is not one of the options that shows up.
    Your phone is telling you "Don't bother it won't work"
    Lee
    2016 R1200RS
    MOA # 30878
    Past BMW Bikes: 2011 K1300S, 2003 K1200RS, 1991 K75S, 1987 K75T, 1984 R100RT

  2. #17
    Registered User marcopolo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Alexandria Virginia/Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    1,003
    Quote Originally Posted by BMW_Ken View Post
    When I tap the three dots, the Smarlink App is not one of the options that shows up.
    Ditto.

    What you dan do, though, is copy the address field from a place you find in Google Maps, then paste that address into the "Find Nearby Places" field in SmartLink. Tap on that search result in SmartLink, and the map opens up. Tap again on the red circle icon (with the i inside the circle), and you are presented with three choices: Send, Share, and Save (it will show you the full address and coordinates). If you choose "Send", SmartLink will send that address to your Navigator (not that I've actually tried that, yet - too lazy to go into my hot garage and take the Nav VI off my bike).
    Mark
    2015 R 1200 GS Adventure

  3. #18
    Debbie's Servant Lee's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    SW Iowa
    Posts
    8,909
    Quote Originally Posted by marcopolo View Post
    If you choose "Send", SmartLink will send that address to your Navigator (not that I've actually tried that, yet - too lazy to go into my hot garage and take the Nav VI off my bike).
    Give it a try.
    On my Android phone when I tap on Send I get a not supported message.
    The message only appears for a second and I can't read all of it.
    Lee
    2016 R1200RS
    MOA # 30878
    Past BMW Bikes: 2011 K1300S, 2003 K1200RS, 1991 K75S, 1987 K75T, 1984 R100RT

  4. #19
    Registered User HWYHOUND's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    western PA
    Posts
    34
    Quote Originally Posted by marcopolo View Post
    If you choose "Send", SmartLink will send that address to your Navigator (not that I've actually tried that, yet - too lazy to go into my hot garage and take the Nav VI off my bike).
    It works perfectly on mine, but keep in mind it will only recognize nearby locations.
    The Second Amendment, America's original homeland security.

  5. #20
    Debbie's Servant Lee's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    SW Iowa
    Posts
    8,909
    Quote Originally Posted by HWYHOUND View Post
    It works perfectly on mine, but keep in mind it will only recognize nearby locations.
    That's correct. Mine has always worked for something local but never worked for something in another state or even 100 miles away.

    Wish it was like my car. I never have to type a location into my car in-dash navigation. I speak into My Chevy app on the phone and press Send.
    When I get in the car and start it there's a message on the dash asking if I want to go to that location or save the location.
    Lee
    2016 R1200RS
    MOA # 30878
    Past BMW Bikes: 2011 K1300S, 2003 K1200RS, 1991 K75S, 1987 K75T, 1984 R100RT

  6. #21
    Registered User HWYHOUND's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    western PA
    Posts
    34
    I just realized, it will recognize a GPS coordinates from anywhere and send it.
    The Second Amendment, America's original homeland security.

  7. #22
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Location
    Virginia Beach, Virginia
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by HWYHOUND View Post
    I just realized, it will recognize a GPS coordinates from anywhere and send it.
    Awesome, never thought of that. Works great.

    OTOH sharing places locally has worked intermittently for me this afternoon. Maybe it's a a temporary "glitch".

    Sent from my SM-N975U1 using Tapatalk

  8. #23
    Debbie's Servant Lee's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    SW Iowa
    Posts
    8,909
    Quote Originally Posted by HWYHOUND View Post
    I just realized, it will recognize a GPS coordinates from anywhere and send it.
    When using a desktop computer I can get coordinates from Google Maps with a right click.
    How do you get coordinates from Google Maps using a phone ?

    Edit: I see if I hold the red push pin on Google Maps I can see the Coordinated at the top of my phone screen.
    I'm still trying to figure out how to copy the Coord.

    If I figure it out I'm not sure I'll use that method. I'll still need to edit the location on the GPS if I want to display the business name, address and phone number.
    Lee
    2016 R1200RS
    MOA # 30878
    Past BMW Bikes: 2011 K1300S, 2003 K1200RS, 1991 K75S, 1987 K75T, 1984 R100RT

  9. #24
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Location
    Virginia Beach, Virginia
    Posts
    41
    If anyone wants databases for custom POI's go to this website: http://www.poi-factory.com/

    Sent from my SM-N975U1 using Tapatalk

  10. #25
    Debbie's Servant Lee's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    SW Iowa
    Posts
    8,909
    Quote Originally Posted by oscs View Post
    If anyone wants databases for custom POI's go to this website: http://www.poi-factory.com/

    Sent from my SM-N975U1 using Tapatalk
    That's a handy site. I've loaded a few POI lists from there.
    Lee
    2016 R1200RS
    MOA # 30878
    Past BMW Bikes: 2011 K1300S, 2003 K1200RS, 1991 K75S, 1987 K75T, 1984 R100RT

  11. #26
    Registered User lkraus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Central Ohio
    Posts
    1,884
    Quote Originally Posted by Lee View Post
    When using a desktop computer I can get coordinates from Google Maps with a right click.
    How do you get coordinates from Google Maps using a phone ?

    Edit: I see if I hold the red push pin on Google Maps I can see the Coordinated at the top of my phone screen.
    I'm still trying to figure out how to copy the Coord.

    If I figure it out I'm not sure I'll use that method. I'll still need to edit the location on the GPS if I want to display the business name, address and phone number.
    On my phone, the coordinates of a dropped pin do appear in the search bar, but there is no way to copy them from the bar.

    If the selected location does NOT have an address, you can copy the coordinates from the info at the bottom of the screen. Tap the double lines under the map, or swipe up in that general area. Tap on the blue pin or the coordinates and they will be copied to the clipboard.

    You can then paste the coordinates into Smartlink. The problem is that Google Maps mobile will "helpfully" convert coordinates into a street address wherever possible, and Foursquare will not work with any address outside whatever area it considers local. This is relatively new behavior by Google; I can find instructions on the web that show both the street address AND the coordinates of a location.

    It might be simplest to use the GPS to ride near enough the destination that Foursquare will see the specific destination as "local", then send it to the GPS, letting the GPS add it to the route.
    Larry
    2006 R1200RT

  12. #27
    IBA# 5819 61996's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Apple Valley, MN
    Posts
    4,351
    Quote Originally Posted by oscs View Post
    Well, I will revert back to "smartphone link sucks"! It worked when I first posted and this morning it doesn't.
    Sent from my SM-N975U1 using Tapatalk
    Interesting.
    Mine stopped working as well...

    Joe
    “Fate whispers to the warrior, 'You cannot withstand the storm.'
    The warrior whispers back, 'I am the storm.'

  13. #28
    IBA# 5819 61996's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Apple Valley, MN
    Posts
    4,351
    Quote Originally Posted by 61996 View Post
    Interesting.
    Mine stopped working as well...

    Joe
    I stand corrected.
    Both the GPS and phone must be paired and the GPS needs to be turned on.

    Joe
    “Fate whispers to the warrior, 'You cannot withstand the storm.'
    The warrior whispers back, 'I am the storm.'

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 08-17-2020, 01:31 AM
  2. Navigator V and SmartLink
    By bobs_one in forum Motorrad
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-13-2020, 04:31 PM
  3. Garmin Express and Garmin Map Update 2018.20
    By ExGMan in forum Motorrad
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 08-25-2017, 03:40 AM
  4. Nav V Smartlink App Weather Alert Unreadable
    By BMW Triumphant in forum Gear
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-01-2016, 12:15 AM
  5. Garmin GPS V
    By wack in forum Gear
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-30-2003, 10:40 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •