Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: 1971 R75/5 Missing Subframe Tab - Fabrication advice?

1971 R75/5 Missing Subframe Tab - Fabrication advice?

Hello BMW MOA Members!

Long story short, I just acquired a very dusty, somewhat complete '71 R75/5 (my dream bike). I got it for somewhat of a steal, but it's definitely not without some issues. This is my first BMW so I'm still learning pretty much everything about them as I go.

The latest head scratcher/epiphany from today is that my subframe is missing the seat-pin latch tab. I don't have a good picture on hand at the moment, but I'll post one tomorrow morning when I get to my shop.

First question, is this a common break? Has anyone encountered this before?

Second question, would anyone recommend fabricating a new tab or finding a new subframe? I'm trying to be somewhat thrifty/wise about what I sink $ into for this build.

Third, Has anyone had experience fabricating and welding missing/broken tabs onto their frames?

And lastly, would anyone be so kind as to provide the dimensions of the tab in question as to help me in making it?

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance for the help. I'm very excited to be a part of the community, although I think I'll feel like more of a member when this bike actually runs .
    Last edited by jrussakis; 02-11-2016 at 10:00 AM.

Welcome to the forum and Airhead-dom!
    Kurt -- Forum Administrator ---> Resources and Links Thread <---
    '78 R100/7 & '69 R69S & '52 R25/2
    mine-ineye-deatheah-pielayah-jooa-kalayus. oolah-minane-hay-meeriah-kal-oyus-algay-a-thaykin', buddy!

Don't know about the short sub frame, but a used long one should run around fifty bucks. AFAIK, they should be the same with the tabs till about ?. Two cents.

Sorry about that. I took some pics of a '71 R50/5 subframe at the latch area ands this come up when I loaded it. Sorry.