Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Trailering and vehicle power required

KevinRT

Trailering and vehicle power required

Trailering as in towing my bike, not my bike towing a trailer.

Retirement for me can be measured in months though they still add up to years; but I am planning already. My goal is to travel in North America for a couple of months or more at a time. While I have lots of experience living off the bike on my two or three week vacations, doing so for longer seems like a bit of a chore. My intent is to tow my bike (presently an R1200RT but I may downsize in the near future) in an enclosed trailer, hopefully wedging a bicycle and a small, portable gas bbq in there too. My plan is to trailer to a spot, camp, explore the area via motorcycle for a few days, pack it all back into the trailer, move on, and repeat. I figure weight of trailer and contents no more than 1500 lbs. I see lots of vehicles capable of towing that weight but I don't want to be a slug out on the highway. Honda CRV, Toyota Rav4, Nissan Rogue, Subaru Outback or Forester are the types of vehicles I have been considering but their horsepower figures vs weight of the vehicle themselves puts me at a power to weight ratio disadvantage to those of my present vehicle, a 2005 Acura RSX (155 hp). I'd like to avoid going to a much larger vehicle as I have never liked large vehicles and I don't want to suffer the mileage penalty a larger vehicle would entail. What power of engine do those of you with trailering experience use? Some of my travels would be in the Rockies if that is relevant.

Thanks for any input offered.
    KevinRT
    Ottawa, Canada

Unfortunately you have a lot more to consider then just horsepower.
    The vehicles you listed are going to have a class 1 hitch which is rated to no more then 2000lbs or LESS.
    I have a CRV with a hitch and it's only rated to 1000lbs. or less. I pull a Bunkhouse tent trailer with it and it does OK but it only weights 400lbs.