• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

Airhead noob????

pbrokaw

Guys and Gals:

If a guy was looking to pick up his first airhead. What would be a good model to start with??? I have a lot of oil-head experience,but none for airheads.

There is a R60/7 for sale,local to me for $2500

9xrsj-3786694348@sale.craigslist.org

I have seen the bike in person yet gone ...I may be too small for my "frame size" 6'2" 260#

Maybe a R80 or R100GS????

Any thoughts??

Perry

I haven't met many bikes I don't like and it sounds like a good deal for the price but that link isn't working for me, (looks like an email link)? Heck, go take a look and try for a test ride, you might love it or hate it, but I say go for it! :german

All Airheads are basically the same frame size. R65 is a little smaller. You would likely like R100GS best, but it will cost more.

My first BMW was an R60/6 with Luftmeister fairing. I found it to be a bit underpowered. Overtaking another vehicle required some planning. The Luftmeister was pushing a lot of air and was difficult in side winds. I would recommend any of the R100 bikes as a good airhead. Had a R100GS and while the engine was strong I found it handled much differently than a /6 or /7. My biggest complaint about the R100GS is the side stand. It's spring loaded with no way to defeat that design and once you get your leg kicked out you are committed and it can slip. I'm 6'1" and found that aggravating. Of course YMMV.