Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26

Thread: booster plug installation r1200r

  1. #1
    Registered User f14rio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    mattituck new york
    Posts
    1,081

    booster plug installation r1200r

    looks to me like the tank gotta come off to stick the BP in there.
    zat right?



    this is an rt, i think. i have an r
    Last edited by f14rio; 10-09-2012 at 10:40 AM.
    "Enemy fighters at 2 o'clock!...Roger, What should i do until then?"

    2010 r1200r, 2009 harley crossbones, 2008 triumph/sidecar, 1970 norton commando 750

  2. #2
    Registered User mneblett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    1,729
    Yep.
    Mark Neblett
    Fairfax, VA
    #32806

  3. #3
    Lost again Texpaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    San Antonio, Tx
    Posts
    458
    You don't have to remove the tank to install the BP. You can get by with just sliding it back enough to raise the rear and allow access to the airbox. Of course by then you've done almost everything needed to remove the tank except disconnect the fuel lines and lift it off.
    Just saying, installation can be done without removal.
    Paul Mulhern
    MOA# 56330
    '05 1200GS Big Blue

  4. #4
    Registered User f14rio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    mattituck new york
    Posts
    1,081

    thanks mark/paul

    the instructions whut come wif it didn't say nuffin' about takin' the tank off or movin' it around..

    not a big deal but if you're not too smart like me it woulda made it simpler to figger out where to stick it.

    thanks, genamins...i'm headed out to the garage.

    "The only thing to do with good advice is to pass it on. It is never of any use to oneself."
    Oscar Wilde
    "Enemy fighters at 2 o'clock!...Roger, What should i do until then?"

    2010 r1200r, 2009 harley crossbones, 2008 triumph/sidecar, 1970 norton commando 750

  5. #5
    Outlander Omega Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Mansfield,MA
    Posts
    6,971
    It's not you....A friend of mine gave me a BP to try, his a Hex/Cam and mine an F800. A lot of digging shows that it should be the same device but the relevant instructions, no doubt, were written by someone that has done the install many times and forgotten to mention the "little things"
    "Well they say.. time loves a hero but only time will tell.. If he's real, he's a legend from heaven If he ain't he was sent here from hell" Lowell George
    Type M for Moderator
    2009 F800GS 1994 TW200

  6. #6
    not so retired henzilla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    between SanAntone & the Weird Place, TX
    Posts
    6,280
    Since every R tank config is different...I wouldn't have thought you had to go that far...the airbox is more exposed on the RT & GS when you pull the covers off.
    Steve Henson
    SABMWRA MOA Club#62's Flat Fixer/ current forum moderator
    It's not the breaths you take, but the moments that take your breath away-D.Dillon/G. Strait

  7. #7
    Registered User f14rio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    mattituck new york
    Posts
    1,081

    my bike

    ]

    looks like i can get at it leaving fuel and electric lines connected. be nice to have an extra set of hands, though.




    probably should be doing this this AFTER the 6k mi check. anybody think i should tell the dealer the PB is in there? i'm inclined not to mention it.
    Last edited by f14rio; 10-08-2012 at 08:47 PM.
    "Enemy fighters at 2 o'clock!...Roger, What should i do until then?"

    2010 r1200r, 2009 harley crossbones, 2008 triumph/sidecar, 1970 norton commando 750

  8. #8
    BinkleyLane binkleylane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Springboro, OH
    Posts
    135
    My dealer did not have any issues with the BP on mt RT.
    The tech that did the service and short road test actually commented on how smooth the bike was.
    I agreed.
    B-est M-otorcycle (in the) W-orld
    Have Bike - Will Ride

  9. #9
    Registered User f14rio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    mattituck new york
    Posts
    1,081

    well, i slaved it it and cranked it up

    idles at 1100 (cold) rpm or about 100 rpm higher than before. ain't buttoned it up and took it out yet. sposed ta rain tomorrow.
    "Enemy fighters at 2 o'clock!...Roger, What should i do until then?"

    2010 r1200r, 2009 harley crossbones, 2008 triumph/sidecar, 1970 norton commando 750

  10. #10
    bmwk100
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by f14rio View Post
    probably should be doing this this AFTER the 6k mi check. anybody think i should tell the dealer the PB is in there? i'm inclined not to mention it.
    I'm about to do my 24K mile service and was thinking the same thing. I'm concerned that they would "detune" the bike if they don't know it's in there. (I picture them hooking up the computer, seeing that the bike was not within regular specs and detuning it.) Any thoughts?

  11. #11
    'Forgiven'
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    SW Montana
    Posts
    115
    This is what I did..no tank moving needed..





    Hope this helps
    Last edited by pipestone; 10-09-2012 at 03:46 AM. Reason: pic
    Dana

    God Bless America
    2011RT "Favor"of God

  12. #12
    Registered User f14rio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    mattituck new york
    Posts
    1,081

    you got a 'rt'. i got a 'r''

    whatsamattayou?
    "Enemy fighters at 2 o'clock!...Roger, What should i do until then?"

    2010 r1200r, 2009 harley crossbones, 2008 triumph/sidecar, 1970 norton commando 750

  13. #13
    BinkleyLane binkleylane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Springboro, OH
    Posts
    135
    Quote Originally Posted by bmwk100 View Post
    I'm about to do my 24K mile service and was thinking the same thing. I'm concerned that they would "detune" the bike if they don't know it's in there. (I picture them hooking up the computer, seeing that the bike was not within regular specs and detuning it.) Any thoughts?
    That is a great question. I will email the folks at BT and get an answer. I'll post it when they respond.
    B-est M-otorcycle (in the) W-orld
    Have Bike - Will Ride

  14. #14
    BinkleyLane binkleylane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Springboro, OH
    Posts
    135
    Quote Originally Posted by bmwk100 View Post
    I'm about to do my 24K mile service and was thinking the same thing. I'm concerned that they would "detune" the bike if they don't know it's in there. (I picture them hooking up the computer, seeing that the bike was not within regular specs and detuning it.) Any thoughts?
    Here is the responce to your question from Booster Plug.

    The short answer is that you can just leave the BoosterPlug installed when you take your bike to service. There's nothing anyone can do to cancel the effect of our device. Period.

    Here's the long and more technical version:

    ÔÇóAs you probably know, the BoosterPlug basically works by telling the Fuel Injection Computer that the weather is colder than the actual temperature.
    ÔÇóWhen the temperature drops, the air molecules sticks closer together, meaning that there's more air molecules in a gallon of air in low temperatures than in hot weather. This means that the Computer must inject more fuel in low temperatures to keep the same Air/Fuel Ratio.
    ÔÇóThe good thing here is that the characteristics of air molecules behavior is well known, and this characteristics is preprogrammed into the Fuel Injection Computer to make it possible to compensate the mixture in colder weather. I've checked a lot of different brands of Fuel Injection Computers, and this compensation is always the same because it must follow the characteristics of the air that our engines (and we) breathe.
    ÔÇóAs all engines obviously operate in the same kind of air (as there's only one kind), this compensation is never adjustable in any Fuel Injection Computer, and that's why it's not possible to detune the BoosterPlug.

    I should probably also mention that tweaking the air temperature signal is not a new idea - this have been done as long as electronic fuel injection have been around.

    The problem is just that the original Air Intake Temperature sensor is not a linear output device, so it's not that easy to come up with a solution that will provide the same fuel enrichment in different ambient temperatures.

    This is where the BoosterPlug really stand head and shoulders above the hobby solutions.


    Great question and I think I understand the answer.
    You can email them direct from their web site if you have other concerns. They have alswas bee very prompt with me.
    B-est M-otorcycle (in the) W-orld
    Have Bike - Will Ride

  15. #15
    BinkleyLane binkleylane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Springboro, OH
    Posts
    135
    Hey Pipestone,
    Where do you have the termistor ( temp sensor ) placed. I see it in the pic, is that where you leave it?
    B-est M-otorcycle (in the) W-orld
    Have Bike - Will Ride

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •