Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Ilium Highway Pegs, Tupperware Removal '09 R1200RT

Attorney at Law

Ilium Highway Pegs, Tupperware Removal '09 R1200RT

I know this has been asked 1,000 times already, so at the risk of offending everyone here we go. I have been researching different highway pegs for my 2009 R1200RT. I think I have settled on the Ilium pegs. Do I really need to remove all the tupperware to install the pegs? Can I remove the lower, silver engine fairing by simply removing the 6 screws or is it a part of main fairing? I've read that some have removed the bottom 3 or 4 screws and simply "shoehorned" the tupperware, but I have seen what that stuff costs and I don't want to break anything. Yes, I have read that removing all the tupperware is some right of passage when owning a BMW, I'd just rather not perform that right at this time. That being said, if I must, I will. I'd rather do it myself than pay a wrench turner $90+ for the honor.

Attorney at Law

P.s.

I have nothing against wrench turners, I've just always prefered to do things myself unless it is absolutely impractical.

Tupperware

I was reluctant to remove mine too but took the plunge 1 rainy day. I used a YouTube video from I believe max BMW and had quite the feeling of accomplishment when I finished. Go for it.
    IBA Number 49673
    Moore OK
    http://lngrdr.blogspot.com/

On the Road
    I donÔÇÖt think you can get the silver lower body panels off without removing the fuel tank covers, since they are attached to each other , and I donÔÇÖt think you can remove those until youÔÇÖve removed the tank bag mount and side panel. At any rate, you'll find it much easier, faster and safer for your bike to just peal away the body panels. YouÔÇÖll find good instructions on this forum, and also watch the Max BMW youtube video on body panel removal.

FYI IÔÇÖm also going to install the Ilum pegs on my ÔÇÿ09RT but when I called they said theyÔÇÖre on back order.

Bill

Tupperware