• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

r1150gs rear rotor replacement

paddlermikem

I'm a novice mechanic considering replacing the rear rotor on my '02 R1150GS (ABS). I've replaced the pads myself with no problems. The manual makes the rotor replacement look pretty straightforward. I thought it would be harder. Any pitfalls I should be concerned about? I've made my share of blunders in the past.

By the way I'll get my replacement rotor from Beemerboneyard...love that place.

-Mike

I guess, why do you have to replace the rear disc at all? Is it heavily scored or warpped? My 94 R1100RS has over 148,000 miles on it, and I still the the original discs front and rear, the bike stops just fine. And I regularly test my braking with high effort stops. The front discs measure about .170" thick and the rear disc measures about .180" thick. I have replaced the front brake pads three times in that mileage, rear brake pads twice. I have replaced the front rotor carrier bobbins also. And I am an avid braker, using both brakes almost all the time.

Sure, they have some scoring, but nothing bad.

How many miles on your bike? Really high miles?

As far as doing the work, its mostly simple/common hand tools. But you will need a decent torque wrench to insure all the fasteners are properly torqued.

Hi Mike:

What Andy said.

I got my bike used with 20k miles on it and the rear pads completely worn out. Methinks the PO had his foot on the back brake all the time.