Thread: Rick Mayer vs Bill Mayer vs Russell vs other custom seats

Hybrid View

Cowboyatheart

Rick Mayer vs Bill Mayer vs Russell vs other custom seats

Hi, anyone have thoughts on which brother provides the best seats for comfort and fit?

I have no experience with Rick Mayer, but have purchased 4 seats from Bill Mayer over the years for BMW's and, most recently, for my FZ6. Seat preference is a very personal thing, since no two backsides are the s ame. Bill Mayer has gotten it right for me (my size and riding style) or nearly right every single time. No break-in required; in all instances I've ridden 1,000 to 1,250 mile days (for various IBA certificates) when the seats have been new out of the box. Only once did I have to send a new seat back for very minor modification (to move the "pocket" back about an inch). I've gotten leather covering on all of those seats, and it has held up well through all sorts of weather. Oldest seat had over 50,000 miles on it and I sold it on ibmwr with plenty of life left in it for a good price. Very easy to work with them.

Rick made the seat on my R1150R and I couldn't be happier. Their dad, Bill Mayer, Sr. made the solo seat I had on Old Smokey which I rode in both the '99 and '03 Iron Butt Rallies. The seats are almost identical. And equally comfortable.
    Paul Glaves - "Big Bend", Texas U.S.A
    "The greatest challenge to any thinker is stating the problem in a way that will allow a solution." - Bertrand Russell
    http://www.bigbend.net/users/glaves

I have no experience with Bill Mayer, but have had Rick Mayer build me several seats over the years and have always been pleased with what he has done. Rick also completed successfully a full Iron Butt on one of his saddles. Here they are on my R1200RT:

My guess is the Rick and Bill both made good saddles.
    Last edited by bmwdean; 11-10-2009 at 08:35 PM.
    Jeff Dean − Tucson, Arizona − BMW MOA Co-founder (1972)