• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

F800 ST fan thermal switch

happy wanderer

Day Dreaming ...
Anyone replaced one of these yet? A friend fried his accidentally and BMW only sells the entire fan assembly. I am looking for schematics or an alternative thermal switch for his perfectly fine (tested it) fan!

I haven't done any work aside from basic maintenance on an F-bike but I make my living fixing cars. Are you certain that the fan control thermo-switch is part of the fan assembly? I don't have an ST around to look at but typically the thermo-switch is either screwed into the radiator or, more commonly now days, vehicles simply use an input from the engine temperature sensor, the ecm then activates a relay for the cooling fan. (peeking at my 800GS I don't see a switch at the fan or radiator but again I'm not very familiar with these F-bikes yet). Is it possibly a relay that has fried and not a switch?

Let us know what you find and how you fix it. :thumb