• Welcome Guest! If you are already a member of the BMW MOA, please log in to the forum in the upper right hand corner of this page. Check "Remember Me?" if you wish to stay logged in.

We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMWMOA forum provides. Why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the club magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMWMOA offers?

Want to read the MOA monthly magazine for free? Take a 3-month test ride of the magazine; check here for details.

• NOTE. Some content will be hidden from you. If you want to view all content, you must register for the forum if you are not a member, or if a member, you must be logged in.

Proper Kickstart Technique R75/5 1971

jbf

Hi all,

So I'm fairly new to airheads/etc. I have an R75/5 and was curious what the proper method for kick starting was.

I tried once but apparently was not putting enough force behind it I think? Im not an overly large guy. Tall skinny fellow so I wanted to check and see what the proper method people used to kickstart their /5s.

With the bike on the centerstand do you kick start it from standing on the side of the kick starter or do you do it while standing on the bike? How do you get the proper leverage on the kick starter lever?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

p.s. I almost always use electric start but my battery is having a hard time keeping a charge. Want to know how to properly do this in the off chance the battery is dead on me next time I go to start her.

First, you really need to fix the battery/charging situation. I suspect you already know that. The easiest fix would be to get a battery tender and keep it topped up in between starts.