• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

Helmet Shield Sun Protection for the Face?

gharnden

What is the best helmet shield for protecting ones face from sun damage?
I know there are great options for eye sun protection but I am talking about face protection in terms of potential skin cancer. I have had skin cancer issues for years and years, not necessarily related to motorcycle riding as I had these issues even before I started riding. I use a full face helmet and use sun block on my face, especially nose, several times a day when riding. Is a silver mirror shield a lot better than a tinted shield, etc.? Any input would greatly be appreciated.

What brand of helmet? Some shield have UV protection already. The mirrored shields do not specifically address UV light.

HJC are 95% UV protective

You can also check this article on WebBikeWorld

I was talking to my optomotrist about this and he was able to test the shield on my Nolan and it was close to 100% uv blocking. Which surprised me, but I was happy to hear. So maybe you could check at one of the places that makes glasses and see if they could test your shields for you.

My helmet is a HJC IS MAX BT. It is brand new. This model has the HJC-17 series shield.
It has the clear shield with the tinted sun shield that will come down as well (I do not like the shield that comes down inside the regular shield as it comes too close to my nose. Maybe I will get use to it).