• Welcome, Guest! We hope you enjoy the excellent technical knowledge, event information and discussions that the BMW MOA forum provides. Some forum content will be hidden from you if you remain logged out. If you want to view all content, please click the 'Log in' button above and enter your BMW MOA username and password.

If you are not an MOA member, why not take the time to join the club, so you can enjoy posting on the forum, the BMW Owners News magazine, and all of the discounts and benefits the BMW MOA offers?

My first cross country trip; education requested

toddlamp

I have been "planning" a cross/around country trip ever since I started riding motorcycles (~6years) and as I get older and prepare to start a family I am looking to take on the challenge in about 12-18months from now. The solidifying factor came when a friend of mine agreed to take part. I think it was the idea of an 8,000mile trip (my first touring trip) done solo that made me reluctant.

So now I am in the planning phase and realize that I have no idea what i'm doing.

My trip will start in DC and head north/west across Ohio to the Chicago area than north toward Canada. From there we travel west to the Seatle area and down the Pacific coast highway. South on the PCH til about San Fran than its over to Las Vegas. From Vegas we will figure a route to ultimately end up in New Orleans. We go north from New Orleans along the Mississippi to St. Louis. St. Louis south/east to the Tail of the Dragon. And finally north to Washington DC.

We are looking to take 3-4 weeks to do the whole trip but that doesn't mean we won't have long days in the saddle. Our hopes are to spend one day, all day, riding so that we can spend a full day or two in a particular destination to see the sites and take pictures.

Camping will be our primary sleeping choice although we will budget for a hotel room approx. 1 out of every 3-4 nights and especially if we are in a major city.